The Board is collectively responsible for the success of the company; the Executive Directors are directly responsible for running the business operations and the Non-Executive Directors are responsible for bringing independent judgement and scrutiny to decisions taken by the Board. See the Investor pages for more information on the role of the board and our committees

David Lowden


Appointed: January 2021 (Independent Non-Executive Director and Senior Independent Director), May 2022 (Chairman)

Key skills and experience: David is a highly experienced non-executive director, senior independent director and chair of UK listed companies. He was formerly Chair of Huntsworth plc, Senior Independent Director at Berendsen, Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee at William Hill, Chair of the Audit Committee at Cable & Wireless Worldwide plc and Chief Executive of Taylor Nelson Sofres plc.

Other current appointments: Chairman of Diploma plc; Senior Independent Director of Morgan Sindall plc; and until 30 April 2022 Chairman of PageGroup plc.

Committee memberships: ESG (Chair), Nomination (Chair)

Jonathan Lewis

Chief Executive Officer

Appointed: December 2017 

Key skills and experience: Before joining Capita, Jon was Chief Executive Officer of Amec Foster Wheeler. Prior to that, he had a 20-year career at Halliburton Company Inc, where he held a number of senior roles, including Senior Vice President and member of the Halliburton Executive Committee.

Board responsibilities: Managing and developing Capita’s business to achieve the Company’s strategic objectives.

External appointments: Board Member of Equinor ASA.

Committee memberships: Nomination

Tim Weller

Chief Financial Officer

Appointed: May 2021

Key skills and experience: Before joining Capita, Tim was at G4S for five years as its CFO and for three years before that as a Non-Executive Director. He has many years’ experience as a CFO with Innogy, RWE Thames Water, United Utilities, Cable & Wireless and Petrofac. He spent his early career at KPMG, where he trained to become a Chartered Accountant, becoming a partner in 1997

Board responsibilities: Overall control and responsibility for all financial aspects of the business’s strategy. 

Other current appointments: Non-Executive Director of The Carbon Trust.

Georgina Harvey

Senior Independent Director

Appointed: October 2019 (Independent Non-Executive Director), July 2022 (Senior Independent Director)

Key skills and experience: Georgina has significant experience across highly competitive consumer-facing markets and of delivering successful transformational change. Prior to her current roles, Georgina was Managing Director of Regionals and a member of the Executive Committee of Trinity Mirror plc from 2005 to 2012.

Other current appointments: Non-Executive and Senior Independent Director of McColl’s Retail Group plc and Non-Executive Director of Superdry plc.

Committee memberships: ESG, Nomination,  Remuneration (Chair)

Nneka Abulokwe OBE

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed: February 2022

Key skills and experience: Nneka has significant experience of delivering large-scale, high profile technology projects for governments and private institutions globally. She held senior and executive positions with Logica (now CGI), Atos and Sopra Steria, in a corporate career spanning more than 25 years, before founding MicroMax Consulting, where she is currently CEO. Nneka was awarded Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in 2019 for services to business.

Other current appointments: Non-Executive Director, Davies Group; Director of MicroMax Consulting Limited; External Member of the Audit & Risk Committee, University of Cambridge; Adviser, Cranfield School of Management Advisory Board and DoGood Africa.

Committee membership: ESG, Nomination, Remuneration

John Cresswell

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed: November 2015

Key skills and experience: John has substantial experience in leading and growing organisations as CEO and executive director. He qualified as a Chartered Accountant, has a BSc in Economics and Politics, and attended the advanced management programme at Harvard Business School. Previously, he was CEO of Bibby Line Group and Arqiva and held a number of executive director roles on the board of ITV plc. 

Other current appointments: Member of University of Liverpool Management School Advisory Board.

Committee memberships: Audit & Risk, Nomination, ESG

Neelam Dhawan

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed: March 2021

Key skills and experience: Neelam has 35 years’ leadership experience in the IT industry, where she held senior positions in Hewlett-Packard, Microsoft , Compaq and IBM with responsibility for a wide range of areas including strategy, corporate development, software engineering and offshoring. She now advises multinationals on business and technology transformation and, until recently, was an advisor to IBM, helping them navigate through a business and talent transformation in India. Neelam recently stepped down as a member of Koninklijke Philips NV Supervisory Board, having served for the maximum term of 10 years. 

Other current appointments: Non-Executive Board Member of ICICI Bank Limited and Yatra Online Inc. She mentors and advises young startup companies and is on the board of Skylo Technologies Inc. and Capillary Technologies.

Committee memberships: Audit & Risk, Nomination, Remuneration

Janine Goodchild

Employee Non-Executive Director

Appointed: July 2022

Key skills and experience: Janine is a Registered Adult Nurse and Lead Clinical trainer in the Capita team which assesses Personal Independence Payment claims on behalf of the Department for Work and Pensions. Janine joined Capita in January 2016. Janine’s previous experience includes working in the banking industry within corporate actions, asset reconciliations and within employee training and development.

Other current appointments: None

Committee membership: Audit & Risk, ESG

Brian McArthur-Muscroft

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed: June 2022

Key skills and experience: Brian was formerly the Group Chief Financial Officer for Micro Focus International plc, a FTSE100 global infrastructure software company. Prior to this, he was CFO at Paysafe Group plc and led the business to a FTSE 250 listing on the LSE Main Market in December 2016. Before Paysafe, Brian was Group FD at Telecity Group plc. Brian was chosen as Business Week’s Finance Director of the Year in 2017 and 2013 and ICAEW’s FTSE 250 Finance Director of the Year in 2021. Also a restructuring specialist, Brian was the interim CFO on the successful turnaround of MCI Worldcom EMEA. Brian holds a law degree and qualified as a chartered accountant with PricewaterhouseCoopers in London.

Other current appointments: Chief Financial Officer for Qontigo, a financial intelligence and investment management business.

Committee membership: Audit & Risk (Chair), Nomination, Remuneration

Discover more


Corporate governance

Capita remain committed to maintaining high standards of corporate governance.

Find out more

Executive committee

Our executive committee consists of functional heads and executive officers, accountable for their function or division.

Find out more

Our values

At Capita, we live by our values. They define who we are, how we work and help us create better outcomes.

Find out more
Scroll Top

Get In Touch